logo Member of Parliament for Glasgow East

Gambling harm: cross-party push for reform

Published on

If you follow my work, you'll know that a real area of focus for me ever since I was first elected back in 2017 is that of gambling.

I've long campaigned to tackle the blight of gambling-related harm on our communities whether that be the disproportionate proliferation of betting shops in parts of Glasgow East or the need for more UK Government regulation.

This isn't just something that affects my constituency, nor indeed Scotland. Right across the UK, lives are ruined and families are pulled apart by the devastating lure of gambling.

I'm very pleased to work with representatives from all parties on the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Gambling Related Harm to try and bring about further needed change.

An open letter from the group to the Prime Minister has been published in the Telegraph newspaper, making it clear that we expect him to uphold his 2019 manifesto commitment to a review of gambling laws.

This matter needs urgent attention and I hope that this joint effort prompts the Prime Minister to take notice and, more importantly, take action.

Read the text of the letter and a list of signatories below.

SIR - As we near the publication of the Government's White Paper on gambling reform, we are calling on the Prime Minister to be bold in delivering the reforms needed to prevent harm across the country.

As he leads a Government committed to levelling up, we are sure that the stark data on gambling will be a matter of great concern, with more than 55,000 children aged between 11 and 16 now gambling addicts.

A report from Public Health England estimated that the annual economic burden of gambling harm is over £1.2 billion, with the greatest risks in the North West and North East. This is not levelling up but levelling down.

It is time for the Government to live up to the Conservatives' 2019 manifesto commitment to a review of gambling laws, in order to deliver social justice and a better future for all.

Sir Iain Duncan Smith MP (Con)
Carolyn Harris MP (Lab)
Lord Foster of Bath (Lib Dem)
Ronnie Cowan MP (SNP)
Rt Rev Alan Smith Bishop of St Albans
Tracey Crouch MP (Con)
Baroness Davidson of Lundin Links (Con)
Richard Holden MP (Con)
Lord Filkin (Lab)
Sammy Wilson MP (DUP)
Lord Layard (Lab)
Stephen Timms MP (Lab)
Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville (Lib Dem)
Sir Peter Bottomley MP (Con)
Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top (Lab)
Lord Adonis (Lab)
Lord Clement-Jones (Lib Dem)
Siobhan Baillie MP (Con)
Robin Millar MP (Con)
Ian Blackford MP (SNP)
Sir Ed Davey MP (Lib Dem)
Paul Blomfield MP (Lab)
Marion Fellows MP (SNP)
Deidre Brock MP (SNP)
Bambos Charalambous MP (Lab)
Stuart McDonald MP (SNP)
Margaret Ferrier MP (Independent)
Sir Mark Hendrick MP (Lab)
Tim Loughton MP (Con)
Liam Byrne MP (Lab)
Sir Gary Streeter MP (Con)
Andrew Selous MP (Con)
Sir Desmond Swayne (Con)
Munira Wilson MP (Lib Dem)
Wendy Chamberlain MP (Lib Dem)
Wera Hobhouse MP (Lib Dem)
Douglas Chapman MP (SNP)
Tim Farron MP (Lib Dem)
Amy Callaghan MP (SNP)
Alyn Smith MP (SNP)
Allan Dorans MP (SNP)
Layla Moran MP (Lib Dem)
Zarah Sultana MP (Lab)
Apsana Begum MP (Lab)
Tommy Sheppard MP (SNP)
Navendu Mishra MP (Lab)
Carol Monaghan MP (SNP)
Stephen Flynn MP (SNP)
Christine Jardine MP (Lib Dem)
Jamie Stone MP (Lib Dem)
Gavin Newlands MP (SNP)
Sarah Olney MP (Lib Dem)
Anne McLaughlin MP (SNP)
Daisy Cooper MP (Lib Dem)
Patrick Grady MP (SNP)
Patricia Gibson MP (SNP)
Jon Trickett MP (Lab)
Sarah Green MP (Lib Dem)
Martin Docherty-Hughes MP (SNP)
Virendra Sharma MP (Lab)
Martyn Day MP (SNP)
Hannah Bardell MP (SNP)
John McDonnell MP (Lab)
David Linden MP (SNP)
Gavin Robinson MP (DUP)
Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted (Lib Dem)
Baroness Thomas of Winchester (Lib Dem)
Lord Bruce of Bennachie (Lib Dem)
Lord Stunell (Lib Dem)
Lord Dholakia (Lib Dem)
Baroness Harris of Richmond (Lib Dem)
Baroness Benjamin (Lib Dem)
Lord Campbell of Pittenweem (Lib Dem)
Baroness Grender (Lib Dem)
Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve (Crossbench)
Baroness Bonham-Carter (Lib Dem)
Lord Willis of Knaresborough (Lib Dem)
Lord Roberts of Llandudno (Lib Dem)
Baroness Smith of Newnham (Lib Dem)
Baroness Ludford (Lib Dem)
Baroness Thornhill (Lib Dem)
Lord Paddick (Lib Dem)
Baroness Walmsley (Lib Dem)
Lord Thomas of Gresford (Lib Dem)
Lord Jones of Cheltenham (Lib Dem)
Baroness Sheehan (Lib Dem)
Lord Browne of Belmont (DUP)
Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer (Lib Dem)
Lord Sikka (Lab)
Baroness Scott of Needham Market (Lib Dem)
Lord Newby (Lib Dem)
Lord Teverson (Lib Dem)
Baroness Burt of Solihull (Lib Dem)
Lord Addington (Lib Dem)
Lord Morgan (Lab)
Baroness Hussein-Ece (Lib Dem)
Lord Wrigglesworth (Lib Dem)
Lord Taverne (Lib Dem)
Lord Taylor of Goss Moor (Lib Dem)
Lord Tyler Lord Purvis of Tweed (Lib Dem)
Baroness Barker (Lib Dem)
Lord Goddard of Stockport (Lib Dem)
Baroness Suttie (Lib Dem)
Lord Tope (Lib Dem)
Lord Hay of Ballyore (DUP)
Lord Scriven (Lib Dem)
Lord Beith (Lib Dem)
Lord Redesdale (Lib Dem)
Baroness Brinton (Lib Dem)
Lord Shipley (Lib Dem)
Baroness Pinnock (Lib Dem)
Lord Storey (Lib Dem)
Lord Chadlington (Con)
Baroness Randerson (Lib Dem)
Lord Razzall (Lib Dem)
Lord Alderdice (Lib Dem)
Lord Strasburger (Lib Dem)
Lord Oates (Lib Dem)
Baroness Parminter (Lib Dem)
Lord Sharkey (Lib Dem)
Lord Thurso (Lib Dem)
Lord Robertson of Port Ellen (Lab)
Lord Griffiths of Burry Port (Lab)
Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate (Non-affiliated)
Baroness Garden of Frognal (Lib Dem)
Lord Singh of Wimbledon (Crossbench)
Baroness Neuberger (Crossbench)
Lord Curry of Kirkharle (Crossbench)
Baroness Masham (Crossbench)
Lord Stoneham of Droxford (Lib Dem)
Lord Whitty (Lab)
Baroness Nye (Lab)
Lord Foulkes of Cumnock (Lab)
Baroness Cohen of Pimlico (Lab)
Baroness Quin (Lab)
Lord Triesman (Lab)
Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe (Lab)
Baroness Goudie (Lab)
Lord Cashman (Non-affiliated)
Lord Snape (Lab)
Baroness Jolly (Lib Dem)
Rt Rev James Newcome Bishop of Carlisle
Rt Rev Sarah Mullally Bishop of London
Rt Rev David Walker Bishop of Manchester
Rt Rev Julian Henderson Bishop of Blackburn
Rt Rev Christopher Chessun Bishop of Southwark
Rt Rev Christine Hardman Bishop of Newcastle
Rt Rev Libby Lane Bishop of Derby
Rt Rev Nick Baines Bishop of Leeds
Rt Rev John Inge Bishop of Worcester
Rt Rev Martin Warner Bishop of Chichester
Rt Rev Guli Francis-Dehqani Bishop of Chelmsford
Rt Rev Robert Atwell Bishop of Exeter
Rt Rev Rachel Treweek Bishop of Gloucester
Rt Rev Stephen Conway Bishop of Ely
Rt Rev Dr Christopher Cocksworth Bishop of Coventry
Rt Rev Paul Bayes Bishop of Liverpool
Rt Rev Paul Butler Bishop of Durham

Photo credit: Lee Thomas on Unsplash